积分

高级枪友

积分
跳转到指定楼层
楼主
发表于 2016-11-30 23:55 | 只看该作者 回帖奖励 |倒序浏览 |阅读模式
SB 880: “So, What Does This Mean for Me?”
by gunfighter | Jul 5, 2016 | Blog | 423 comments

First, all the dopey caveats; you are responsible for knowing the assault weapons law and I am not a lawyer, nor is any of the below legal advice.  I welcome corrections if you find any of the below to be inaccurate.  This is all new so uncertainty is everywhere.  The below is based on my reading of the law.  The DOJ may interpret and enforce it differently than it is written.  I will update in future articles as we learn more from the DOJ.
What happened?
Will this image of Australian gun confiscation be repeated in California?

Governor Brown signed 5 gun control laws on Friday morning, July 1st (Independence Weekend, oh the irony).  This article will address only one of those 5 bills; the re-defining of assault weapons and registration requirement (SB 880/ AB 1135).  I will discuss what the other 4 bills mean in a separate post later this week.  It just get’s too long to discuss all of them in a single article. Since Friday morning, our little gun shop has received hundreds and hundreds of phone calls and customers asking the same question, “What the F*** just happened and what does it mean for me?”.  This article is meant to answer that question.
What do SB 880 and AB 1135 do?
California has been trying to eliminate and/or criminalize possession of AR and AK style rifles for 17 years.  Since the Assault Weapons Control Act of 1989 California has defined an “assault weapon” as any semiautomatic centerfire rifle with a removable magazine PLUS any of the following evil features (oversimplified for relevance and brevity):
  • Pistol grip
  • Forward pistol grip
  • Adjustable stock
  • Flash suppressor